Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | June 16, 2011

Dr. Dino’s Bagels & Boobs

I don’t always practice what I preach. Regular mammograms, for instance. Last year I realized I had skipped a few, so I decided to turn my procrastination into an opportunity to reach out to those of my patients guilty of the same thing.

I made arrangements with my hospital to monopolize half their schedule one Saturday morning, put flyers up in my office and talked it up like crazy to every eligible woman I saw. On the appointed day, I brought a whole bunch of bagels, half a dozen spreads (I asked the ladies to bring their own coffee), and we proceeded to have a blast! Or as much fun as you can have getting your boobs squished. Hey; it’s all in the name of early detection.

Last year’s final tally was a bakers dozen (twelve patients plus me), out of which about 5 people were called back for more views (mainly those with old films not readily available from other institutions), 2 benign biopsies were done, and one case of invasive breast cancer was diagnosed and treated. Not bad, I thought.

Now it’s time for the Second Annual Dr. Dino’s Bagels & Boobs. Yes, that’s what I call it: I bring the bagels, everyone else brings the…rest. It’s going to be next Saturday, June 25th, 2011, from 9:00 to 11:00 am. Any female patients of mine between the ages of 50 and 70 who happen to be reading this who have either never had a mammogram or haven’t had one for a long time are welcome to call the office and come join us. Women who aren’t my patients (or who may want to be) but who are due or overdue for their mammogram AND who are sufficiently local are also welcome. (Drop me an email at the address on the sidebar.)

I find it especially poignant to be making this announcement today, of all days; it has been exactly twenty-five years since my mother died of breast cancer. I can’t think of a better way to honor her memory.


Responses

  1. Excellent idea, Doc!

    Now if other docs would take up the mantle in a similar fashion!

    Although I’m not sure I’d show up for Happy Hospitalist’s Prostates and Perogies Day…

  2. I”m due for mine – wish I lived nearby I’d be there!

  3. Ditto what Peggy said

  4. Amazing timing: I’ve had my regular, annual mammogram (and DEXA scan) scheduled for Friday 6/24 for months now. If I lived closer to you I’d join join for the 2d Annual B&B event. (Don’t know if you have a flyer or logo for that, but I’m thinking of an obvious line drawing that visually references both bagels & boobs simultaneously.)

    Yes, it’s an excellent way to honor Mom’s memory.

  5. Very cool. Nice to know that last year’s gathering served a real purpose.

  6. I was truly moved by the last paragraph. She was my loving wife for 30 years. (I guess that blows my cover.)

  7. Very cool way to help someone move from “Yeah, I know you think I should” to “That wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.” Many things are less painful with a snack, some company and a few laughs 🙂

  8. Doctor D, this is brilliant. Hope you get a great turnout this year.


Leave a comment

Categories