Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | November 9, 2016

The Day After

I feel like a cell in a body. A tiny little cell that’s part of something far bigger and more complex than myself.

It’s a body that has cancer. Not a terrible cancer. Something curable with appropriate treatment. The treatment wouldn’t be pleasant, but it wouldn’t be crippling. But it has to happen, because without it, the body really would die.

But the body has somehow inexplicably rejected conventional treatment, and decided to go with alternative medicine. Woo. Nonsense. Fantasy-based care.

  • “That chemo is poison!”
  • “The drug companies are all in cahoots, trying to keep me sick so they can make more money off me.”
  • “My doctor has orange hair and small fingers, and although he’s never been to medical school, he says he can make my body great again. So what do I have to lose?”

I am trembling in fear, because as a tiny isolated cell in this sick, sick, sick body, I could very well die. And there’s not a damn thing I can do about it.

Responses

  1. I hear you. I am physically sick and heartsick too. I wore all black to my office job, and I have put a “do not disturb” sign on the door, which is closed. And I made a donation to the Southern Poverty Law Center this morning.

  2. I’m so with you there. I fear for the health of my country.

  3. Interesting analogy for someone like me, currently in chemo, who depends on an ACA subsidy to pay for my health insurance. If that goes away early in the Trump administration, so does my actual life.

  4. Great analogy. I’m so sorry for what has happened in your country. I can’t even speak.

  5. Ah yes, how true. But then again, a body has a remarkable ability to recover and I have the faith to believe that our body politic will do so.

  6. Reblogged this on Cal Nordt and commented:
    This is the most original next-day reaction I’ve seen yet!

  7. Just want to throw up. ACA will go away, people will die, they’ll kill EPA and we’ll choke on poison air and water and then they’ll convert Medicare to vouchers that will be useless in a few years. Gee, what’s not to like?

  8. Just checked in here, first time in a while, looking for comfort. Thank you for expressing the same feelings of fear, and anxiety, and the ongoing dread of what’s coming. I can’t do a damn thing to change what’s happened. I wonder every day how the electoral college system can continue. I will wear my safety pin every day, and try to have some faith that all things happen for a reason. That’s hard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

