Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | February 10, 2016

Back-Dated Travelogue; Postscript

The flight back was much calmer than the one over. We even got to sleep some, though of course not nearly enough. Having left New Jersey in over two feet of snow, we were less than thrilled to return during another snowstorm. At least this one was slated for more northerly climes, and it stopped the moment we crossed the Delaware river. Still, it was a gray, messy, slushy, miserable drive.

We were both seriously jet-lagged for several days. We even ducked out of our traditional Super Bowl party at halftime to go home and pass out. The nice part about conking out between 7:30 and 8:00 pm was that I awoke on my own, refreshed, around 4:00 am, which let me get to the office bright and early enough to clear up all the accumulated busywork there.

A friend at the party asked, “What was the one biggest highlight of the trip?” I couldn’t answer her. I could come up with the highlight of each day, but so much of it was so very special that there was no way a single moment could truly sum it all up.

I know these posts have been terribly superficial; mainly an excuse to share a few of my 200+ pictures. Even the journal I kept couldn’t keep up with it. Luckily I have a notebook full of readings and texts, only some of which were used in formal study sessions, to go back over again, when I get the chance.

All in all, it was the kind of experience that pleads to be experienced in real time, in the moment, as events unfold, without trying so overly hard to keep a record, whether photographed, handwritten, or blogged. I’ve got my memories — which I’m happy to share with anyone who’s interested — but they’re still mine to treasure. And I shall.

Shalom.

Responses

  1. Welcome back, glad you had such a fantastic trip!

  2. My goodness how many time zones is that?


Leave a Reply

Categories

