Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | September 9, 2014

Why Isn’t it Better?

Doc, my shoulder is killing me. I can’t sleep, I can’t work; you’ve got to help me.

I saw you in the office two weeks ago for this, right?

Yeah, that’s right.

Did you get the x-ray I asked you to get?

No.

Did you try the heating pad we talked about?

No.

How about the over-the-counter pain relievers I mentioned.

No.

[Deep breath]

How can I help you.

I think I need a MRI.

[Another deep breath]

They won’t let you get an MRI without an x-ray [see Third Law]

But why isn’t it better?

[Pause for several deep breaths]

Why indeed.

Responses

  1. Breathe, doc, breathe….

    >

  2. Why does he waste his time?

  3. The patient’s lack of improvement is entirely your fault for your failure to engage the patient in the care plan. Did you ask him if he feels safe in his home? If he has any loose area rugs on the floor? If he wears a helmet when he bicycles? Shame, shame, Dr. Dino.


Leave a Reply

Categories

