Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | June 7, 2013

Medical Service Trip

Almost 70 years ago*, this crotchety old guy in his 80s whom I’ve known for years went out on a double date with a buddy of his. The crotchety old guy didn’t quite hit it off with his date, but his buddy did. They married and lived happily ever after.

The buddy went on to become a Family Physician (of quite some prominence, I might add.) One of his four children also went on to become a Family Physician (equally prominent; certainly much more so than I.) The crotchety old guy went on to become a lawyer, of course.

In the fullness of time, this younger prominent physician was drawn to humanitarian causes, and founded an organization called Health Horizons International. Every four months, they run a week long medical service trip to the Dominican Republic providing primary care to several communities there.

After years of hemming, hawing, and finding excuses not to go, I am pleased to share that I will be going on the next HHI medical service trip to the DR, leaving Labor Day weekend. DDS will be going with me, doing non-physician stuff and hopefully enjoying himself as I become part of a diverse team providing primary care at clinics in several different villages.

Although not technically a tip jar, donations are deeply appreciated. The link is here, but the address is:

Health Horizons International Foundation
One Regency Drive
Bloomfield, CT 06002

Checks may be made out to Health Horizons International Foundation.

I’ll tell you more when I get back.

 

 

*I know, I know, Dad; it’s been 68 years and change. Seriously, I was 6 when I first said that. Give it a rest already.

Responses

  1. There’s $50 in your tip jar, or rather in HHI’s jar as they don’t allow comments such as “for Dino”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

