Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | March 6, 2011

A Dinosaur, an Ambulance Driver, and a Cranky Professor Walk into a Bar

Actually, that should be: a doctor and two paramedics walk into a cranky professor’s beautiful circa 18XX [remind me in the comments and I’ll edit] house, along with a hubby, a dearest darling spouse, and three midgets. Mass quantities of beer and wine are consumed, as are homemade bread, chicken pot pie, and beef bourgignon, followed by cake, ice cream, and a delightfully off-key rendition of Happy Birthday. Hilarity ensues, stoked by Ambulance Driver‘s neverending stock of tales, accompanied by his trusty straight man, Too Old to Work, Too Young to Retire. (Example: regaled by stories of outrageous bariatricity (ie, large folk), the hubby asks, “How do people get that big?”; TOTWTYTR responds, “They eat a lot.”)

I’ve written before about the odd phenomenon of becoming friends with people you’ve never met. One could put it down to the power of social media and blogging, which is uniquely internet. But there’s more to it than that. The willingness to sit down at a keyboard and put yourself out there, plus the ability to articulate some of the darkest moments of existence, pulling readers in until we actually feel the abject despair of loss and death (at least a faint shadow of it); sharing the vicissitudes of special needs parenting, of love, and loss; revealing one’s soul to the world wide web: that takes a special kind of person.

I am proud and deeply honored to call several of them friends. As always, the opportunity to seal the deal, so to speak; to break bread and share the stories in real time; to hear the laughter and the mimicry with ears instead of just imagining them from phonetic spellings. To hug with arms instead of just {{brackets}}. These are special times:

We still have to go walk into that bar someday. I can’t wait.

Responses

  1. Yeah, the power of social media… I long to have a blog myself so that I can open a tweeter for my self and have thousands of followers that would be interested even in the utter crap that I’ll be saying and will be willing to meet me and I’d be dying to meet them too…

  2. It was through a blog that I met someone who had a fabulous hairstylist…and the rest, as they say, is history. Finally I have someone cutting my hair who doesn’t make me look like a dog with floppy ears.

    On another note…just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blog and viewpoint! We have a fabulous GP now. That she’s only a year older than my firstborn was a little disconcerting, but she did her undergrad at CAL at the same time my son was there, so I knew she was ok. Ha. (Go Bears!)

  3. Wait! You had fun WITHOUT ME??????

    No fair!

    Seriously, sounds like it was a wonderful blogger/spouse meet up. Here’s to more to come!

    Peggy

  4. You have long been one of my favorite people in the blogosphere, and meeting you in person did not disappoint.

    Now I can count two more people (and their spouses) as treasured friends.

  5. I don’t have a blog myself, so maybe “friends” isn’t the right word. Possibly “stalker” fits. I am late to the party but have gone back and read all the archives for you and Ambulance Driver, and miss Cranky Prof terribly. I would indeed consider you all friends if you knew I existed. lol So stalker it is!

    I’m glad you all had a marvelous time.

  6. It was a pleasure to meet you, Bill, CalvinsMom, her husband, and children. I had a lovely time, as evidenced by the time we left to continue our trip. I look forward to seeing you all again.

  7. I have been reading your blog for sometime now as if it was talking with an old friend. First place I go in the morning. I was interested to see this latest blog as I have been in withdrawal ever since cranky lit professor went private. If it was cranky lit professor that you visited with instead of the cranky professor. When cranky lit prof talked about her students it was easy to identify as I work with a history professor at U of MD and boy the stories she tells about entiltled students is amazing. It also made me realize why cranky lit professor went private from the comments as the e-mail my friend gets is sometimes disturbing. Thank you for this blog which made all my favorites visiting each other like a party that I loved hearing about as I was unable to atttend.

  8. Sounds like a great event! Some of my favorite bloggers.

    Count me among those missing Cranky, and especially Biscotta. Bear and Shark were fine to read about, but baby antics are appealing and Cranky had a great way with a baby story.

  9. Count me in with Cindy and Brighid – I still am suffering from my lack of cranky stories… Glad to hear that y’all had a blast!

  10. Oy, if only cranky’s walls had ears…and mouths.


Leave a Reply

Categories

