Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | November 12, 2010

Courting Heresy

I had the most scrumptious dinner tonight: cheesesteak on a croissant. Smothered with sauteed onions and mushers (sliced baby portobello mushrooms), the buttery croissant gave the meat a savory sweetness that was just awesome. DS thought it was okay, but wouldn’t start a trend. I disagree; if I saw “Steak au fromage a la Philly” on a ritzy French menu, I’d slurp that puppy up in a heartbeat. Don’t get me wrong. I adore cheesesteaks made with genuine Amoroso rolls. But this; this was truly delectable, especially to an unabashed butter-phile like me. An amazing dinner.

Responses

  1. Bon apetit! Who wants to eat like a gerbil and live and extra 3 or 4 days longer.

  2. I clicked the link for Amoroso’s rolls and it brought back some fond memories of my time in Philadelphia. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

