Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | April 4, 2009

Why I Love My Staff

The phone rings:

My Wonderful Staffer: Good morning, Dr. Dino’s office. How can I help you?”

Deceptive Patient: Is the doctor there?

MWS: Can I help you with something?

Note: It took awhile, but I finally taught a good Catholic the Jewish trick of answering a question with another question.

DP: Well, my leg has been hurting for a while now, and I’ve been seeing another doctor for it. He ordered an MRI, so I need Dr. Dino to write me a note for it.

MWS: If the other doctor ordered it then he’s the one who needs to write you the note [left unspoken: “and get the damnable pre-authorization too!”]

DP: [hemming and hawing] Actually, the doctor isn’t ordering it. Some of my friends told me that’s what I need for my leg.

MWS: I’m sorry, but Dr. Dino won’t write a note for a test without seeing you first to evaluate the problem.

No appointment scheduled, but no note written either.

Jeez!

Leave a Reply

Categories

