Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | October 31, 2008

Fun with Flu Shots

It’s that time of the year again: flu shot season. Thanks to the new and improved expanded official recommendation that all kids get flu shots, my joint has been jumping. In addition to regular office visits, the right-hand column of the appointment book is used for people coming in for just the flu shot. Add to that all the regular patients I am able to spring it on convince it’s a good idea, and I’m stabbing away all the live-long day.

Giving out that many flu shots, an old dinosaur has to find a way to remain amused.

Saw a guy today with an elaborate tatoo on his target non-dominant shoulder, and I found myself with a delightful quandary. Where to poke my little needle?

  1. Right in the injun’s crotch?
  2. His nose?
  3. Tip of the eagle’s beak?
  4. In the center of the “o” in “Mom”?

I settled for the eagle’s eye. That way when he gets his little local reaction of redness at the injection site, the bird will look like it’s been in a bar fight.

Flu shots are fun. I need a life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

