Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | June 14, 2008

Movie Review: "The Happening" (Safe; No Spoilers)

Darling Spouse and I saw the new M. Night Shyamalan movie “The Happening” for one reason only: last fall I was mightily inconvenienced for three days while the road in front of my office was shut down for its filming. Such excitement! Mark Wahlberg was there, though I confess I never saw him. The little diner up the street was used for an extended scene, as was the road. All we wanted to see was those familiar sights up on the big screen.

In that respect we weren’t disappointed. It was very odd; I for one found it impossible to believe they were actually out in the middle of Nowheresville, PA when the scene was so familiar. But we squirmed and pointed and sat up with excitement during that scene.

Other than that, the whole thing was a total bust. The premise was stupid. The characters weren’t even substantial enough to call them cardboard — more like tissue paper. The “romance” wasn’t believable. I couldn’t even figure out how to take Mark Wahlberg, and that’s not a problem I’ve ever had before. There was no twist at the end (or even in the middle or beginning.) I don’t particularly enjoy being scared, which is why I don’t accompany the kids to their horror flicks and why I didn’t enjoy this one either (after the familiar locations had come and gone.) I don’t even think the kids would like it; it’s that stupid.

Leave a Reply

Categories

