Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | July 21, 2014

Personae Public and Private

The house is done; we’re all moved in, mostly unpacked, and just starting to get organized. The guest room is my temporary writing room. No more excuses. Back to blogging.

My post analogizing car seats to vaccines has taken on second life thanks to a cool Australian site (Thanks, Mamamia of Oz.) This in turn has generated more comments (thanks, all!) including a long, thoughtful one from Patrick, who begins thusly:

I honestly believe there is fault on both sides of this debate. Vilifying and ridiculing each other doesn’t bring about good health results.

I feel the need to clarify something here:

I am not the same in person as I am on my blog.

In person, dealing with patients one by one, I neither vilify nor ridicule. I take my time, explaining in however much detail a given patient or parent wants to know, about anything and everything. How does this blood pressure medicine work? Where to kidney stones come from? Why won’t you give me an antibiotic for my cold? Is there any substance to these scary things I’ve heard about vaccines?

Even when people clearly do not believe what I am telling them (not “do not understand”, but “do not believe”) I remain polite, as I try to persuade by explaining. Analogies; stories; diagrams; articles; whatever it takes. I strive at all costs to educate.

So what happens when, after explaining AND ascertaining that the patient understands, she says in essence, “I don’t believe you.”

Nothing.

I don’t tie the kids down and vaccinate the m against the parents’ will. I don’t yell, I don’t wag my finger, I don’t shake my head sadly as I leave the room. Nothing.

Above all, I remain professional.

After a while, though, all those encounters begin to take their toll. Being called a liar tends to get me down. News flash: I’m human. So what do I do?

I take to the blog and hammer away at the idiocy of the antivaccine leaders and the sheeple who follow them. I flay the alt-med charlatans with words (though not nearly as eloquently as these guys.) Yes, I ridicule. Yes, I vilify. Yes, I shout from the hilltops, spreading far and wide the truth of science: vaccination works. But only online.

I find it amusing to intentionally adopt a far more curmudgeonly attitude here than I would ever dream of displaying in meatspace. It’s part of the fun of blogging, which is why I’ve been doing it now for almost eight years.

All I ask is recognition that my public blog persona is different from my personal, real self.

 


Responses

  1. Hi Doctor,

    In my response to your article I certainly wasn’t singling you out in relation to my comments about vilifying and ridiculing that clouds this debate on both sides. It is unfortunately, particularly in Australia one “tactic” that both sides of the debate use. I just wanted to highlight the detrimental effect that it has on both sides.

    Your description of your practices while welcomed by me wasn’t necessary to convince me of your realistically directed passion. But thank you for taking the time to do so.

    All the best as you settle into your new home.

    Cheers,

    Patrick


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

