Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | September 23, 2012

This Girl Can Flat Out Write

One of the things I tell new parents is that babies pop out complete. Personality, temperament, coping style: all present from the very beginning. It takes a while to become evident, of course, but they’re all there from the git-go.

She was always tiny. Then again, her mother still gazes longingly up in vain at the five-foot mark. As soon as she could talk, she had a way with words. At age three she fractured a clavicle, then enchanted an entire ER by announcing, “We had a little problem with the stairs. Someone fell down them.”

Now on the far side of college and the proud owner of a degree in journalism, she blogs here. She may post only a few times a week, but what a treat when she does:

On recalling the impact of 9/11 on a relative:

That was before you decided the past didn’t exist anymore. Before you decided you’d rather not remember a Tuesday in September or a Saturday in April or a funeral for the only woman who’d ever been able to keep you in line.

That was well before the Towers dusted your shoulders with the ashes of strangers, clinging to you all the way to a home that belongs to somebody else now.

On returning to church:

Growing up, I thought we were to whisper, “Thanks, speedy God,” instead of, “Thanks be to God.”

I spent years convinced of this. Now, I know, sometimes He is speedy. Sometimes, He works quickly. In an hour’s time, He quiets your fears.

From “Write Your Heart Down”:

And it doesn’t matter that you’re seventeen or twenty-six or lying in a nursing home bed, wondering if God wants to give you a tomorrow. There is something magical about flipping back through years of pain and sorrow and joy and reading them like your favorite novel because you know the ending.

Wise beyond her years, on doing what you love:

We don’t do it because it’s beautiful and effortless. We don’t do it because someone else approves.

It feels right. Deep down inside.

It feels like the only thing we can do…

If no one ever reads my story or my food blog or this blog or the Facebook status update I typed for work, it will still matter.

You do what you love because life is too long to feel like you haven’t done anything of value. Life is too long to feel like you wasted it on someone else’s dreams.

And it’s too short to forget that even if you’ve no idea where you’re headed, even if you need a framed quote hanging above the fireplace you’ve yet to use, you are doing something that matters.

I know enough about writing to know that there is no such thing as “talent”. There is lots and lots of hard work, notebooks and flash drives filled to overflowing, with only a tiny percentage ever being put out there for anyone else to read. This girl can flat out write. Go see for yourself.


Responses

  1. I was getting an abnormally high number of views on my blog and saw them all being directed from you, so I had to stop by and see where they were coming from. You are too kind. Truly. I’m glad to have your support and words of encouragement. Hopefully your readers are appreciating my content. (And I laughed out loud about the comment about my mom’s height. I’ll be passing this along to her.)

  2. Please, Kaleigh: an “unusually” large number of views, perhaps. There is nothing abnormal about people wanting to read anything you may write. Nothing at all. Get used to it. More than happy to steer readers your way. It’s quite well deserved.

  3. Hi! I simply would like to offer you a big thumbs up for your
    great information you have here on this post.
    I am returning to your blog for more soon.

  4. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back often!

  5. Excellent, what a weblog it is! This webpage provides useful facts to us, keep it up.

  6. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, wonderful blog!


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

