Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | December 11, 2007

Eighth Night of Hanukkah

Here it is; the magnificent new centerpiece of my menorah collection: “The Wall,” a work of art in fused glass, representing the Western Wall of the Temple in Jerusalem, by Israeli artist Tamara Baskin:


It’s ten inches high by twelve inches long, and pictures just don’t do it justice. I trust you can see why Darling Spouse and I were so taken with it.

I hope you’ve all enjoyed this little romp through my menorah collection. Thanks so much for sharing the holiday with me, especially all those who were kind enough to leave such nice comments (though all you lurkers were just as welcome.) I wish you all a very Happy Hanukkah!

Edited to add:

Darling Spouse, whose interest in this blog I had always believed was limited to “When are you going to get your ass off that damn computer?” insisted that it would be only appropriate to add this picture of the boring old ordinary menorah that we actually used this year fully alight on the last night of Hanukkah:


Actually, I think this menorah was one of the Jock’s Bar Mitzvah gifts, but I’m holding onto it for him until he sets up housekeeping on his own. The foil-covered metal tray is my nod to safety. If you look carefully you can see the eight days of accumulated wax drippings, as well as the matches behind the candles on the right. Not nearly as elegant and amazing as the other eight, but a menorah full of lit candles always gives me a thrill. Happy Hanukkah, everyone!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

