Posted by: notdeaddinosaur | December 3, 2007

My Menorahs

About ten years ago I began collecting Hanukkah menorahs.

A word to the technical: the Hebrew “menorah” just means candle holder. Many menorot (plural) are seven-branched candelabras, representing the days of the week. The special nine-branched menorah used for the holiday of Hanukkah is technically known as a Hanukiah.

Hanukiot are certainly available in a wide variety of candelabra-type designs, but also in an infinite variety of non-traditional forms and materials. Many are magnificent works of art. Once my family became aware of my hobby, they began giving me menorahs as gifts, which made me easy to buy for and helped my collection grow.

One day not long ago, Darling Spouse and I were walking through the mall when both of us caught sight of one of, if not *the* most magnificent hanukiah either of us had ever seen. We decided we couldn’t resist it, and so it is not only this year’s addition to the collection, but all my Hanukkah presents for the year. (Probably my birthday too, just on the basis of price.)

Of course the first thing I wanted to do was post a picture of it on my blog to share with all of you. But then I realized what I really ought to do was save it for the last night of Hanukkah. For anyone who doesn’t know, Hanukkah lasts for eight days and begins tomorrow night. (Jewish holidays always begin at sundown the night before.) Then I had another idea.

On each of the eight nights of Hanukkah this year, I shall post a picture of one of the menorahs from my collection. (I have over two dozen.) Some are cute; some are whimsical; some are cool; all are gorgeous, in my humble opinion, of course. The culmination — the eighth night — will be this year’s fantastic work of art. So please come back and check them out; I’m looking forward to having you spend Hanukkah with me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

